July 06, 2023

LAWT News Service


California Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas appointed Assemblymember Isaac Bryan of Los Angeles as a member of the Assembly Democratic Leadership team for the remainder of the 2023-24 legislative session. Rivas announced the selection on Monday, July 3.

“The historic diversity of our Caucus speaks to the remarkable lived experiences across our great state,” said Rivas. “Our leadership team also reflects this diversity so that we can uplift all residents.”

The Speaker noted that the leadership team will center the perspectives and needs of communities “who have been routinely and systematically underrepresented and underserved for far too long.”

Bryan, who represents the 55th Assembly District, took the oath as Majority Leader during Monday’s session.

“I am honored and humbled to be able to serve the people of California as our next Majority Leader of the Assembly under the leadership of Speaker Robert Rivas,” Bryan said. “Speaker Rivas and I share a deep, personal understanding of the struggles so many Californians face, and equally share a daily commitment to improving the conditions of life for all. I’m grateful to the Speaker for his trust in me.”


Rivas gave the oath to Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, a Democrat from Winters, as Speaker Pro Tempore during Monday’s session as well.

“I am extraordinarily grateful to Speaker Rivas for his faith and confidence in me,” Aguiar-Curry said. “I am excited to work hand in hand with Majority Leader Bryan and the rest of our leadership team to serve The Speaker, the Assembly Democratic Caucus, our Legislative institutions and the working people of this state.”

The Speaker expressed gratitude for members who had served the Assembly and Caucus so far this session.

“I am especially thankful to Assemblymembers Eloise Gómez Reyes and Chris Ward,” Speaker Rivas said. “Their service to the Assembly and leadership elevated the functionality and effectiveness of our work. I look forward to ongoing collaboration with them.”

The Speaker announced the following members to the Assembly Democratic Leadership team:

Speaker Pro Tempore — Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry of Winters

Assistant Speaker Pro Tempore — Assemblymember Stephanie Nguyen of Elk Grove

Majority Leader — Assemblymember Isaac Bryan of Los Angeles

Assistant Majority Leader — Assemblymember Gregg Hart of Santa Barbara

Assistant Majority Leader for Policy and Research — Assemblymember Diane Papan of San Mateo

Majority Whip — Assemblymember Lori Wilson of Suisun City

Assistant Majority Whip — Assemblymember Matt Haney of San Francisco

Assistant Majority Whip — Assemblymember Josh Lowenthal of Long Beach

Democratic Caucus Chair — Assemblymember Rick Zbur of Santa Monica

Category: News